One Year

One year ago, today, my 11-month old puppy died. One year ago, my world almost fell apart. Her heart stopped, and I’m pretty sure mine did too.

To call it a freak accident would be an understatement. M and I took Sophie to the dog park to run around. She absolutely loved it! After about an hour we were heading back to the car. In a matter of seconds all the smiles went away and were replaced with fear.

On the walk back Sophie lifted up her front paw as if she stepped on something. After thoroughly checking it, there was nothing to be found. Then she started slowing down. And let me tell you, as an 11-month old yorkie-poodle she did not slow down for anything! By time we sat down with her outside the car she started puking.Naturally, I started thinking she ate something bad. But then she started having diarrhea at the same time. We knew something was wrong then. By time I got to pick her up her whole body went limp and she started losing color.

We rushed into the car, M started driving to the closest vet. My baby had no movement, her body completely limp. Her tongue lost all color. Then she stopped breathing. In my arms, her inhalations slowed  until her little ribs didn’t expand anymore. By this point I had already started CPR. Her heart stopped for maybe 30 seconds, or so M says, its still a bit fuzzy to me. She opened her eyes just as we pulled into the vets parking lot. We rushed her in and the vet took her to the back.

We didn’t get any answers for about 10 minutes. He came back out, and while I was fearing… Expecting the worst, he said she was still breathing! He gave her epi and a high dose of benedryl. We were then shipped off to the actual animal hospital in the city where they hooked her up to an IV and continued more meds. She stayed in the ICU overnight. Amazingly, she was released the very next day.

You would think that with all that we went through we would have answers. I mean, that’s what you expect, right? There were no answers for us. The episode that happened to her is referred to as extreme anaphylaxis. Something happened, whether that be a bug bite, or sting, that caused her body to go into complete shock and her heart stopped. We don’t know what caused it, we don’t know if it will ever happen again. The vets say it is extremely rare they see a case so severe, if ever.

All this to say I am thankful that my girl is still breathing. That she is still running around and living life the way any almost 2-year old dog should. I’m thankful that June 23rd, 2012 ended the way it did. So many different factors could have altered the outcome. The fact that I knew CPR, that Im married to an EMT, that we were close to a vet, that we didn’t get into an accident trying to get there, that she lived.

So yes, a year ago today my puppy died. But she also came back to us! I can hardly believe it was on the same anniversary of our proposal, 3 years ago. Talk about a memorable date. I definitely hugged my husband and my baby a lot closer today. They are my everything.

image

image

Leave a Reply

